Location: 10818 San Diego Mission Rd, San Diego, CA 92108
Date founded: July 16, 1769
Patron saint: St. Didacus of Alcalá
Founder: Fr. Junípero Serra
Native peoples: Kumeyaay (Ipai/Tipai — also known as Diegueño).
Goods produced: Wheat, barley, corn, beans, peas, lentils, garbanzos and fava beans.
Features: A unique pair of buttresses jut out from the façade alongside a distinctive espadaña tower containing five bells.
Current status: Roman Catholic Parish.
Historical landmark number: Historical Landmark No. 242. National Historical Landmark.
Interesting facts: The mission was burnt down by Kumeyaay warriors in 1775. It was was occupied by the U.S. Army from 1847 to 1857.
- 1774: Original mission site on Presidio Hill was moved to the present location.
- November 5, 1775: Indians attack Mission San Diego and kill Fr. Luis Jayme and two other people.
- 1803 and 1812: The mission building was damaged by earthquakes. A new church was dedicated on November 12, 1813, which incorporated buttresses to make it stronger.
- 1847: The US Army occupied the mission compound and turned the church into a barracks.
- 1862: President Lincoln formally restored 22 acres of the mission property to the Catholic Church.